“The Board of Directors is determined fully to support the Group’s strategy, to work closely with automakers worldwide in their efforts to reduce C02 emissions by offering them innovative concepts, and to develop our business in Asia and emerging countries."
Pascal Colombani, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Valeo

Board of Directors

Functioning of the Board

The Board of Directors determines the orientations of the Company’s operations and sees to their implementation. Subject to the powers expressly granted to shareholders’ meetings and within the limit of the corporate purpose, the Board of Directors is competent for handling, and deciding upon, any matters that concern it. The Board of Directors carries out any controls and audits as it may deem appropriate.


At its meeting on March 20, 2009, the Board of Directors named Pascal Colombani Chairman of the Board and Jacques Aschenbroich as Chief Executive Officer of the Company.

The members of the Board of Directors are: Jacques Aschenbroich, Gérard Blanc, Daniel Camus, Pascal Colombani, Jérôme Contamine, Caroline Maury Devine, Michel de Fabiani, Sophie Dutordoir, Noëlle Lenoir, Thierry Moulonguet, Georges Pauget and Ulrike Steinhorst.

The Board of Directors has set up three committees whose purpose is to improve its operation and assist it in the decision-making process:

  • the Audit and Risks Committee, made up of Daniel Camus, Chairman, Michel de Fabiani, Noëlle Lenoir and Thierry Moulonguet.
  • the Appointments, Compensation and Governance Committee, made up of Georges Pauget, Chairman, Caroline Maury Devine, Sophie Dutordoir, Michel de Fabiani and Ulrike Steinhorst.
  • the Strategy Committee, made up of Jérôme Contamine, Chairman, Gérard Blanc, Thierry Moulonguet, Georges Pauget and Ulrike Steinhorst.

    Transparent financial communication

    Valeo endeavors to provide regular, clear and fully transparent information to its individual and institutional shareholders, both actual and potential, as well as to financial analysts. Information is communicated through press releases and the half-yearly publication of the Group’s results.

    Operational Committee

    Valeo's Operational Committee, chaired by the CEO, comprises 13 members including the Chief Operating Officer, the Functional Directors and the Presidents of the Business Groups and of Valeo Service. Its role is to define the Group's strategic directions, to monitor the operational management of the Business Groups, and to coordinate project implementation.

    Bruno Guillemet, Senior Vice-President, Human Resources
    Robert Charvier, Chief Financial Officer
    Catherine Delhaye, Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer
    Jean-François Tarabbia Senior Vice President, Research & Development and Product Marketing
    Antoine Doutriaux, President, Thermal Systems Business Group
    Robert de La Serve, President, Valeo Service Activity
    Axel Joachim Maschka, Senior Vice President, Sales & Business Development
    Eric Antoine Fredette, General Counsel
    Xavier Dupont, President, Powertrain Systems Business Group
    François Marion, Vice-President, Corporate Strategy and Planning
    Maurizio Martinelli, President, Visibility Systems Business Group
    Christophe Périllat, Chief Operating Officer
    Marc Vrecko, President, Comfort and Driving Assistance Systems Business Group

    Other Functional Directors
    Fabienne de Brébisson, Vice-President, Communications
    Rodolphe Garnier, Group Internal Audit and Internal Control Director

    National Directors
    Sergio-Pancini Sa, South America
    Luis Chica Couto, Spain/Portugal
    Rebecca Cullinan, ASEAN
    Françoise Colpron, North America
    Ashok Kumar Belani, India
    Burak Akin, Turkey
    David Gstalder, Poland
    Anders Karlsson, Russia
    Sung-Ho Kim, Korea
    Maurizio Martinelli, Italy
    Edouard de Pirey, China
    Ryuji Saito, Japan
    Alexander Ziems, Germany

    To find out more